Old share mapping upon reboot

When you change share mapping in users AD logon scripts, for example if you move share to another server, after a reboot users can still see an old path in their drive mappings. Usually it happens if you forget to unmount drive before mounting. If share was already mounted before it won’t remount to a new one. To get rid of that, always add something like net use N: /d /y before mounting line.

However, sometimes it screws up. In case you steel see an old share go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ Software\ Microsoft\ Windows\ CurrentVersion\ Explorer\ MountPoints2 and remove cached record for this share. It will look something like ##SERVERNAME#SHARENAME. After that you will hopefully have your share automatically mounted to the correct path.

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: